My running server

I ended up actually reinstalling…

For some reason my installation of the mailserver (*why* did I do that?) screwed up sudo. As I could no longer use sudo at all, that pretty much destroyed the install. I couldn’t even shut down.

So, after a relatively painless second install, in which I did not choose to install a mail server, my old gateway functions perfectly as my web server.

The default LAMP and SSH servers work perfectly. To set up the Apache server to broadcast my site, I followed the instructions at the Ubuntu Wiki. Go down a bit to where it says ‘Virtual Hosts’. That should help. As for SSH, I set it up so I can do anything via SSH I could do sitting right there.

I’m not sure it was necessary, but I added my (remote) self to sudoers like this. All of this was locally on the server.

  1. Type ‘sudo visudo’. This open sudoers safely.
  2. Add yourself global rights to do anything from anywhere with the line ‘[your remote username] ALL=(ALL) ALL’
  3. Now you can SSH in remotely and do anything.

I haven’t tested the Samba server yet, but I did install an FTP server. I figure, why not?

Install ‘vsftpd’ the usual way. Now you can edit the file as here: Ubuntu Wiki. I disabled anonymous users, and enabled local. That way I can just FTP in to my home directory if I really have no possible access to SSH.

More will be coming on this server soon…

I would send you all to it, but my school’s network both prohibits that and makes it impossible (we have an awesomely impenetrable firewall…kind of annoying).

Note: 2000 hits as of this morning! In just a month and a half. It took a month to gt the first thousand, and two weeks to get the second… At this rate I should expect 3,000 in a week! But this week is Spring break! So probably not too many posts. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

