Making an Ubuntu Server

I’ve decided to make the ancient Gateway desktop I have lying around into a server with Ubuntu. Previously I was running Openbox, but I’m going for complete command-line, headless operation this time.

Some of the things I want in my server:

  • Full LAMP (Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP) for easy web development.
  • FTP server – why not?
  • SSH – for access and files
  • Samba server – easy windows access

That’s most of the things I can think of right now.

I’ll post about progress as I go. Currently the install is at 83% – Installing the kernel.

Then I get to try to make it work!

Image I found on the internet of someone who’s sytem looks better than mine (same one though):

Leave a Reply

