Firefox 3 Update – and bad timing

As I wrote previously, I’ve been using Firefox 3 alpha 8 for a couple of weeks, as that was the newest version available in the Ubuntu repositories. To fulfill a promise made a few days ago on this blog, I set up Firefox 3 Beta 2 manually yesterday. Today, I am installing system updates, when I look, and the build has been updated to Beta 2! All that work for nothing…

ff3

Beta 2 is awesome, though. Beware, a lot more extensions don’t work with beta 2 than alpha 8. To my knowledge, my method of installing non-compatible addons should still work fine.

Also, to install addons from a non-secure site, such as your hard drive, I believe you have to set ‘extensions.checkUpdateSecurity’ to ‘false’ about:config. I’ll update the original post too, just in case.I found it at http://tmp.garyr.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7273 while installing the Tab Mix Plus beta version in alpha 8. The secured sites check is new in FF3, as far as I know.

Leave a Reply

