Using laptop as a monitor

As far as I can tell, there is no easy way to use my laptop as a primary monitor (or secondary, so I could use dual screens when I get a regular monitor and another computer here). There are a couple “solutions” that use the network to make a fake monitor, but I would like to use the external out on the laptop for the speed and cpu advantages. I’m going to keep looking though. One way or another, I will find a way.

One of the over-the-network solutions i’ve seen is MaxiVista, which looks really cool, and I might have to look into it if I can’t find a hardware solution. However, the software appears to cost $50! Maybe as a gift if I decide that I need it, but not too pressing at that price. Lots of functionality though.
I’ll have to think about it.

My old favorite, Synergy is an option for faux-multi monitors that has the advantages of more processors and memory, but without the seamlessness of one computer. I still love it for use at home. And, I now know that it uses network bandwidth for sure, so I can use it with dial up.

for now though, back to the search for a hardware solution!

Leave a Reply

